headlights pointed down?

My 525, 5spd, PP, CWP is now two months old. Yes, it's not the sportiest model. Yes, I sorta regret not ponying up the cash for the 530, but who cares, I am in love with my car anyway. I'm a bimmer driver/fanatic for life now. However, there is one thing that is a bit frustrating.

My headlights (halogen) seem to be pointed too low. I know this is a bit subjective, but it's pretty noticeable to me and also passengers, and I always have the urge to turn my brights on. I swear it seems that only about 25 or 30 feet are illuminated with the top sorta truncated. Almost like the hood is blocking the top of the light. I can actually see the shadow line from the ridge in the hood. Since this is my first bimmer, I'm not sure if this is just normal. Has anyone else noticed this? Is there a way to manually adjust these or am I left to contact my service dept?

Thanks for your time and help. As always, I love the board and the new look is sweet.

Fraser

I have a 2001 540 which I just recently bought.

I mentioned the same thing to the dealer who convinced me nothing was wrong but I was out again at night and something has got to be wrong. I have paced off about 25-30 yards as the line that is shown on the pavement and then it slants up to the right. This strikes me as completely wrong. I have talked to two other owners who have a different set up.

I don't know what others have found but mine is going into the shop as this just not seem right to me.

Good Luck

The same condition appears with the Xenon lights I have.

Just adjust them yourself to your liking. If people start to flash their lights at you, lower them a little. That's what I did.