Bad Alternator Whine!

gedwyn

First off let me say that this is my first time posting here as I am the proud new owner of a mint
'99 metallic black M3 convertable. Best car I have ever owned. However,I have installed a new JL Audio
stereo system as the HK stereo was Horrid. Well it sounds great except for bad alternator whine
coming through the rear speakers. I have moved both amps ground to the battery and several places on the frame
to try and get rid of it but no luck. I am hoping somebody will have experience with this. My amp are in the trunk with the speaker wire going through each side by the seat/Rear window panel and into the speakers.
The whine stays on no matter if the amps are on or off which makes me wonder if the speaker
wire is picking it up and it is not a ground issue.

Thanks for the help in advance.

Paul

Tom

Staff Team
Does your amps have a gain dial on them? If so try turning that down a bit. From the deck, are the amps connected to an EQ or Crossover?

Tom

Staff Team
How did you install the Headunit? Did you purchase a wire harness or cut the stock wires? If your speakers are connected to the amp, I'm not sure how they can whine when the amp is off unless perhaps the wire is exposed somewhere. Go through and check to see if this is the case.

Alternator wine has NOTHING to do with input gain. It will still be there no matter how you adjust that. That cause of your noise is the power cables are too close to your RCA (Pre-outs). The Power cable emits EMF which gets picked up into the RCA cables and is played through your system after being amplified by your amps.

I almost can bet you ran your RCA's and Power cable down the same side of your car. You should always run them on separate sides, and IF you need to have the wires come close to eachother, you need to have them cross eachother perpindicular to eachother and the noise will be cancelled out (not really cancelled, but the EMF won't be picked up do to the direction of the waves).